Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Tomichi Pass on a Good Day

What I learned from a wrecked Jeep at the bottom of the canyon

I clung to the handlebar brake, transfixed by the wadded up remains of a Jeep 500 feet below. The trail on which I perched, with softball-size rocks strewn in the path, was etched into the side of the mountain.

Sheer wall on my right. Sheer drop on my left. My Arctic Cat four-wheel-drive All Terrain Vehicle idled gently, oblivious to the risk.

The wrecked remains of what had probably once been a nicely equipped Jeep were slowly rusting away in the Colorado canyon far below.

We all love the great outdoors

The area was quite familiar to me, an ideal spot for a solo vacation: Tent camping, reading, four-wheeling and fly fishing in the Gunnison National Forest southwest of Buena Vista.

Fly fishing not so much; I think I lack the patience for it. But I have lots of the gear so I made a good photo op.

Traveling north from Sargents over Tomichi Pass, alone on the trail with my ATV, I was headed for my primitive campsite on Middle Quartz Creek when I discovered a side trail. I had known it was there but had never investigated it.

Why not? I had an hour to kill, and I was on vacation, after all.

I took the gravel road that curved through the forest from near the Tomichi summit, headed slightly downhill. Trees thinned out as the Arctic Cat and I came out into sunshine. The trail bent again further to the right, following the curve around the mountain.

Tomichi Pass trail in the background, looking south from Hancock Pass

We came out onto a long glide. The road narrowed slightly, with here and there a wide spot suitable for a turnaround. The gravel become rougher. A few small boulders appeared, beachball size. No problem.

This is not to confused with safe

Another curve. The trail was now an eyebrow on the exposed side of the mountain and the canyon vista opened before me. I slowed and continued to creep forward, always downhill. The bottom of the canyon was hidden by outcroppings and brush, but it was maybe a thousand feet deep from here.

I scanned ahead for another turnaround. None in sight. Maybe a little further.

Another 500 yards and the trail narrowed again. Steeper downhill.

I stopped, holding the idling Arctic Cat with the brake under my left hand. I noticed my hand ached as I held on a little too tightly.

The view of the bottom now clear, I let my eyes rove across the scene far below.

I almost missed it.

There was something… manmade. But corrupted. In a few seconds my mind resolved what the optic nerve conveyed: It was a vehicle, perhaps a Jeep, wadded up incredibly into a jagged ball.

It was an old wreck by the looks of the rust. It was impossible to tell what color it had been. I eyed the Jeep, then turned my attention back to the trail on which I sat. Although hard to tell, it appeared to continue to narrow… to nothing?

What kind of a deal is this?

Danger close

Still clinging to the brake, I swiveled my head and now realized that a wide trail suitable for vehicle traffic was diminishing into a horse path.

Suitable for an equestrian with nerves of steel, maybe.

The road where I sat was maybe 9 feet wide from sheer wall on the right to a crumbling edge on the left. The bike was 6 feet long.

I would have to turn around. Here. With the trail continuing to slope down before me.

My mouth was a little more dry than it should be.

Ever so carefully I rolled forward, guiding very slightly to the left, then came to a full stop. Placing the bike in reverse, I powered backward slowly, beginning a reverse J-turn. This was what my driver’s ed instructor had called the Bootlegger’s Turn.

I backed, turning the handlebars hard to the right, until I felt the rear wheels rise as they encountered the upward side of the trail. We were not yet perpendicular to the road. This would require two or three more hitches to get turned around.

I rolled forward with extreme caution, turning to the left. Then reversed, turning right. Rolled forward again, to the left.

Now I was exactly perpendicular to the direction of the trail. My eyes could not avoid the Jeep below, mute testimony to how someone else had attempted and failed at exactly this maneuver.

Do not try this without adult supervision

Before me, the drop was sheer for about 20 feet, then sloped into a steep slide of precarious moraine at maybe a 60 degree downward angle. There would be no chance to stop a slide all the way to the bottom. Positioned as I was on the bike, I would not be able to leave the machine in the event it went over the edge.

I would join the Jeep, adding my ATV and my body to the cautionary tale.

Reversed again, turned hard to the right, felt the left rear wheel rise as it encountered the slope. Rolled forward again, hard left. Stop; far enough; note the crumbling rock near the right front wheel.

One more reverse hitch, then finally, blessedly, eased into first gear, put the axle in low range, and began the long, slow climb out of Dead Jeep Canyon.

At some point, I must have begun breathing again.

It has always been a metaphor for… something. Now, 20 years on, the event signifies to me the risk of approaching danger.

One of the Proverbs tells us that a wise person scans the road ahead for danger and finds an escape. A simpleton plods blindly forward and pays the price. (Proverbs 22:3)

How NOT to win the fourth quarter of your life

  • Health: Eat the rich foods, load up on salt and sugar, spend lots of time sitting, demand extreme effort from colon, kidney, liver and heart.

  • Wealth: Spend it while you can. You only go around once. Take no thought for the future. Don’t possibly consider the ant, who lays up for himself in summer so that he can last the winter. What a chump!

  • Legacy: Disregard those who, for some reason, esteem your wisdom valuable and seek to emulate your lifestyle. Never take thought for what they see when they look to your example.

Those are sure recipes not only for your own self-destruction, but for dragging loved ones, friends and associates along behind.

There is a better way

Mostly, keep moving and keep thinking. Accept input from those who have gone before, and from fellow travelers, who offer insight on finishing strong. Find a group of those who are like-minded and develop networks. Strength in numbers!

If you are 60+, you have probably already considered this time of your life.

If you are 40+, you know it’s coming but it still seems a long way off.

If you are 20+, realize where you are headed and take steps.

A friend has launched a Facebook Group called Your Best Retirement. It is open to the public and free to join. One day soon he will begin posting a weekly newsletter with tips, tactics and techniques for finishing the fourth quarter well.

He does not give financial advice, so you do not have to keep your hand on your wallet.

Join the group, as I have, and see what he has to say.

And if you believe this topic has value, share this message with someone else. We are sort of all in this together.

Alligator, the TV Show!

And, before I forget, yes! My TV interview with Mindy East of Ageless Enthusiasm aired last week on KPTS in Wichita. It is Ageless Enthusiasm episode # 208 which you can find at pbs.org and search for ageless enthusiasm 208. The link is in the text below, at the bottom of the episode transcript.

When you watch it, don’t forget to take notes!

https://www.pbs.org/video/ageless-enthusiasm-208-jaqf3f/

Good week!

Share The Alligator Blog

0 Comments
The Alligator Blog
The Alligator News Roundup
The Alligator News Roundup is a review of selected news items of the week with commentary, which some find sarcastic, dryly humorous and entertaining.